

October 4, 2009

## **Architectural Excellence Honored**

By Diane Heilenman

Four Louisville projects and one from Lexington were among the winners from 36 entries for the annual Excellence in Architectural Design awards from the Kentucky Society of Architects, a chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

The awards were made during ceremonies Friday in Covington.

The top Honor award went to the Mason Lane Farm Operations Facility in Goshen, Ky., by De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop, Louisville, for owner Eleanor Bingham Miller. The jury noted: "This project succeeds at all levels, from its site planning and overall conceptual clarity, to its meticulous proportioning and resolution of the smallest detail. There is an economy and beauty in the execution of these simple farm structures that transforms them into something much greater."

The student union building by Omni Architects of Lexington for Northern Kentucky University in Highland Heights won a merit award, with the jury complimenting the "placement of the building on a major circulation path (that) is used to great effect, both activating the building and giving form to the pedestrian's experience. The building looks beyond its own program and acts to shape and create new exterior spaces for the campus"

The Frazier International History Museum in Louisville won a merit award for the transformation of an old warehouse into a new use by K. Normal Berry Associates Architects of Louisville. The Everett House in Louisville, owned by Juliet Gray and Mathias Kohlemainen, won a merit award for De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop as "a great example of sensitive and exciting design that creates something inherently new and modern within a historical context."

David Harned's and Larry Cox's Twisted Salon in Louisville won a citation for Architectural Artisans Inc. of Louisville. The jury noted: "The simple gesture of adding a modern cube to provide a commercial presence that addresses the street transforms the entire composition. Both the addition and the interior remodel of the existing residential structure create a very clear and powerful volume."

The jury was made up of Seattle architects Kirsten Murray, Rick Mohler, Grace Kim and Les Eerkes.

Additionally, seven awards of recognition went to firms and individuals for their contributions to architecture. EOP Architects of Lexington won the Distinguished Firm Award.

Steven A. Eggers of Louisville and Thomas E. Lett of Lexington each won a Distinguished Service Award.

Kentucky state Rep. Rocky Adkins of Sandy Hook and Sherry Hempfling of the Boone Conservancy in Burlington, Ky., each won a John Russell Groves Citizens Laureate Award.

William Blair Scott Jr., an architectural historian in Lexington, won an Honorary Membership.

Gary Meeker of Pella Windows & Doors in Louisville won an Allied Professional Award.